Call of Duty: Vanguard is free for a limited time

Call of Duty: Vanguard multiplayer has gone free for a limited time as part of a new promotional event.

The one-week free access period is underway, giving you access to all Call of Duty: Vanguard multiplayer content until 9am PT / 12pm ET / 5pm BST on May 24 – or 2am AET, the May 25.

Unlike previous free access periods, this event includes all of the game’s multiplayer content. According to an Activision blog post, every map and game mode is available to play, including some series classics like Dome, Castle, Radar and Shipment.

It also gives you access to the third season of Call of Duty: Vanguard content, which only dropped last month. Like the new season of Call of Duty: Warzone, it’s heavily based on King Kong and Godzilla, and includes a new Mayhem map that lets you battle it out in a replica monster movie set from the 1950s.

A soldier in Call of Duty Vanguard carrying a submachine gun

(Image credit: Activision Blizzard)

Gifts galore

Call of Duty: Vanguard’s last free access period in April only did a small part of the game’s free multiplayer mode. That Activision is now opening the doors to all of the game’s multiplayer content for a week could be a sign that it is doubling down on free promotional events. We wouldn’t be surprised if even more free weeks and weekends appear in the coming months.

Activision likely sees them as an effective way to recoup fans of the series who left when the game launched. 36.1% compared to Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War, the previous version of the series, leaving the series in a precarious position.

Activision has since gone on to say that the game “did not meet [its] expectations” and blamed its disappointing sales figures on its World War II background.

“The game’s World War II setting didn’t resonate with some members of our community,” the publisher said in its latest annual earnings report, “and we haven’t brought as much innovation in the premium game than we would have liked.”

This commercial underperformance reportedly encouraged Activision to halt the series’ annual release cycle, as it prepares to skip a 2023 launch and push Treyarch’s next game in the series to 2024. true, 2023 will be the first year in two decades that a new Call of Duty doesn’t come out.

Leave a Comment